The story so far…

25 07 2011

Well, where do I begin? 2 days in and one has been pure hell, the other amazing!

Yesterday we spent a total of 25 hours from when we got up to leave home for the airport to getting into bed in Newark, New Jersey…but even though it was an awful day, it’s a memorable one lol I won’t go into full on details otherwise I’d be typing this blog for the next couple of hours, but the day pretty much went like this. Firstly the airline didn’t want to let us put both bikes on, so after pissing everyone else of in the queue behind us we eventually got them on. Next Arturs was pulled into Immigration in Iceland and for over an hour we didn’t know where he was, THEN came America and the not so pleasent “Bunch” (That’s what the name tag read) did not want to let me into the US, I don’t know if he didn’t like my face or what…but he did not like me. After being interrogated he takes me to Isolation where I had to sit in a massive room on my own and wait for another guy on a big pedestal looking down at me to interrogate me some more. This point I was literally filling my pants as it didn’t look like they were going to let me in (I still don’t know their reasons) but eventually he stamped my passport. Got questioned some more, then was allowed to go…but the night didn’t end there. Hire car, another problem, finding the hotel an even bigger problem…especially as it took 2.5 hours to get to somewhere 2 miles away…don’t ask. Just don’t… πŸ˜‰ And all I wanted to do was check my bike had got through its ordeal of being thrown around by baggage handlers…and it did πŸ™‚

But with the rough, comes the smooth…

So as I lied against the side of a pool in Washington I knew today was going to be better….and it was. (Well, we do keep getting lost, but we get there eventually). We have been staying and being fed by friends of Becki’s who have all been amazing and friendly (unlike customs) so many thanks to them! I’m now sitting on a bed in an awesome house (Home Alone size) relaxed, full and getting excited for the party tomorrow πŸ™‚

So yeah, we’re all good now πŸ™‚ I’m sure we are going to get some bad days, but it’s worth it. These sort of days you remember, look back on and laugh about…I’ll never forget “Bunch” the miserable bastard… πŸ˜‰

Actions

Information

One response

26 07 2011
David

Can we have the version from Rebecca?

Leave a Reply

